Notion Thirty-Four: On Finding Mr. Right

014I had never had a boyfriend. At most I went on a handful of casual coffee dates that never really grew into anything past that. My younger sister was the funny one, the one that always seemed to draw in all the boys with her cuteness and charm. At 15, it had already begun to be a regular thing for her to receive flowers at her door, or be bringing home little gifts from school. Her current boyfriend wanted to marry her.

Then there was me. I was 20 years old, had cut off many (if not all) of my high school friends, working a horrible part-time job at a shoe store with a pig-headed boss. I would go home every night to my parents, now and then wondering…however will I meet someone if I don’t know anyone? Is he just going to run into me on the sidewalk?

I often just pushed it out of my mind, resigning myself to the fact that I simply would just take care of myself. I began to save my money for a down payment on a house and had my entire single life planned–right down to having a career in fashion, owning a condo and a Yorkshire Terrier. I wasn’t unhappy with the idea, or so I thought.

It seemed that in the past I was always the one that friends would run to for relationship advice, ironic considering I was about the only one with absolutely no experience in the matter, yet I assume whatever wisdom I was giving out must have been credible. The truth was, I knew what I wanted, and refused to compromise. I knew some of my old high school haunts were not places I would meet my soul mate, and frankly I wanted a miracle as well. I wanted to be able to say that he walked into my life, that I did not go “hunting” for him. Sure a companion would be nice. I just wasn’t desperate. Every girl knows that one of the best feelings in the world is to be found and pursued, not to be contriving it oneself.

Flash forward about 6 months I began hanging out with a new crowd. These were people I could rely on, who shared some of the same beliefs and goals. I traveled around to various pubs and establishments with my friend and her band, selling merchandise at the shows. I was very happy, still storing away my money bit by bit, and working on getting a better, higher paying job. Yes, my single life was going to be comfortable.

As a Christian girl, I do believe in the profound. So, it happened one night shortly after my 21st birthday, during a temporary burst of visiting a tanning salon every week (it only lasted a short time thank goodness) that I was walking home, skin smelling of coconuts and this overwhelming feeling of loneliness crept in. I had been pushing it aside for so long. As much as I was quite enjoying myself being solitary; I now had a new job that paid more than double my previous, I had accomplished my fitness goals and was religiously attending recreational kickboxing classes, as well I had friends who were kindred spirits, my heart was incomplete and ignoring it was not going to fix it.

I prayed to God as I walked, telling Him that “I just give up.” Whatever that even meant. God knew I was far, far too stubborn to just “settle” for any guy and I sure as heck was not going to become a floozy.

At once I had this overwhelming feeling of peace. I felt comfort, “Do not give up now, you’re closer than you think.” In my heart I thought…yes, I can wait a few more years.

That night I met my husband. I was invited to go out with a friend, and she had invited her friend, who brought his friend. Mircea (my husband) was his friend. I had no idea the guys were coming and Mircea whom I did not even know existed, was not meant to come at all. He was a last minute “I don’t want to be the only guy there.” act from his comrade.

Of course I did not know that night that one day we would be sharing vows and a life together. Our friendship started and blossomed and here I am five years later. God sure works in mysterious ways. Somehow, I have a business in fashion, the condo, the dog and most importantly, Mr. Right.

One comment

  1. 🙂 you are a blessed lady indeed! it seems so long ago eh? concerts and meeting mircea? now lookacha! all murried ‘n happeh ❤

Leave a Reply

